Russell And Hetmyer Leave West Indies Squad To Play In The Pakistan White-ball Series

St John’s (Antigua), Nov 27, : Four West Indian cricketers, Andre Russell (Shimron Hetmyer), Lendl Simmons, and Evin Lewis, will not be touring Pakistan later in the year for a six-match White ball series.They cited personal reasons as to why they had to Leave the Caribbean team.
The Cricket West Indies selection panel has named four uncapped cricketers — Shamarh Brooks (CWI), Justin Greaves, Gudakesh Mtie, Odean Smith — to the squads for the tour.It will begin on December 13th with the first T20 International at Karachi.

 Russell And Hetmyer Leave West Indies Squad To Play In The Pakistan White-ball

The tour includes three T20Is as well as an equal number One-day Internationals.It will end on December 22.All matches will be played in Karachi’s National Stadium.

Justin Greaves and ShamarhBrooks are newcomers to the ODIs.Gudakesh Mtie is a lefty spinner.Odean Smith is a fast-bowling all-rounder.

Smith and Motie were also selected in the T20I Squad along with Dominic Drakes, a left-arm fast bowling Allrounder.

Motie was a traveling reserve during the recent ICC T20 World Cup, UAE.Smith and Drakes were net bowlers prior to the tournament’s start.

Roger Harper, chief selector at CWI, stated following the announcement that there were “a lot of talented newcomers to each format that will have an opportunity to show their potential at the international level.” Justin Greaves is a talented player.He had a successful CG Insurance Super50 tournament, and performed well in President’s XI against Ireland in 2020.

In the last CPL (Caribbean Premier League), Odean Smith caught our attention.Although his pace was never in doubt, he has shown greater control and the ability to take wickets.

“Shamarh Brooks played well in the CG Insurance Super50 Cup, and then he performed well in the CPL.He will add more depth to the batting lineup.Gudakesh Mtie was rewarded for his outstanding performance at the CG Insurance Super50.He also performed well in the CPL.Harper said that Dominic Drakes is an exceptional all-rounder, as he demonstrated during the last CPL.”

The ODIs of Pakistan are part the ICC ODI Super League, where points earned would count towards qualification for the ICC World Cup 2023.

The ODI series is West Indies’ fourth in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League.This league allows the top seven teams to qualify for the Cricket World Cup 2023, which will be held in India.

West Indies currently sit in eighth place out of 13 teams, but have the chance to rise above Pakistan and move into seventh.

Full squads: (ODIs), Kieron Pollard (Captain), Shai hope, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Akeal Hosein, Gudakesh Mtie, Anderson Phillip, Nicholas Pooran, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr.

(T20 Internationals), Kieron Pollard (Captain), Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell Dominic Drakes Shai Hope Akeal Hosein Brandon King, Kyle Mayers Gudakesh Mtie Romario Shepherd Odean Smith Oshane Thomas Hayden Walsh Jr.

Tour schedule (All matches in Karachi): December 13 – 1st T20I; December 14 – 2nd T20I; December 16 – 3rd T20I; December 18 – 1st ODI; December 20 – 2nd ODI; December 22 – 3rd ODI.

akm/ #Russell #Hetmyer #West #Squad #Pakistan #Whiteball #Cricket #BCCI #ICC #IPL


#BCCI #Cricket #Hetmyer #Squad #Russell