London 15th August : Australia all-rounder Marcus Stoinis has come under a lot of criticism on social media for appearing to claim Pakistan Pacer Muhammad Hasnain of throwing a ball during his team’s Southern Brave’s seven wicket loss against the Oval Invincibles in The Hundred Men’s tournament.Stoinis was the top scorer with 37 runs off just 27 balls for the Brave on Sunday night.
He was dismissed by Hasnain pulling the ball to mid-off, top-of-the-line.He was dismissed after sharing the score of 55 runs with Captain James Vince for the second wicket.
When he returned to the pavilion Stoinis was mimicking a throw that appeared to suggest that he was joking at Hasnain’s bowling.
Social media platforms, Stoinis was widely criticised for his attempt at posing questions about the legitimacy of Hasnain’s bowling act.
“This is shocking! Hasnain was cleared of any wrongdoing and it does not have anything to be in connection with Stoinis,” wrote former player Azeem Rafiq on Twitter.
“Who do Marcus Stoinis think he is? He was exiled by Mohammad Hazan tonight in #TheHundred.Then he began to signal as if Hasnain was laughing! Disrespectful, really! If you’re not able to play him, you’ll have a clue where the dressing room is.You’re not Ricky Ponting.take a swig!” wrote an avid Cricket fan on Twitter.
“They are not able to play him.He was first Henricks followed by Maxwell and then Stoinis.Hasnain is a nightmare for Australians,” commented another fan.
“I was thinking about what Stoinis was up to and it’s now to be pretty obvious.I would not call Hasnain a chucker in this manner is bitter grapes.
Really poor sportsmanship, and brings back memories of the year 2000.Aussie team’s attitude towards subcontinental teams.” wrote a Cricket enthusiast.
In the spring of this year, Hasnain was found guilty of having an illegal bowling act and was disqualified from bowling.
His actions were later recorded by the umpire Gerard Abood after he bowled in the BBL match between Sydney Thunder and Adelaide Strikers on January 2.
In June, he was cleared to bowl once more after his modified action, specifically the elbow extension was determined to be within the permitted limits.The question remains to be determined whether Stoinis will be subject to disciplinary action or not due to his gestures after he was thrown by Hasnain.