Maharaja Trophy: Mysuru Warriors Win A Thriller Against Hubli Tigers

Maharaja Trophy: Mysuru Warriors triumph in a thrilling match against Hubli Tigers

Bengaluru 18 August : Bowlers had a blast at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium on Thursday, as Mysuru Warriors Karun Nair-led Mysuru Warriors registered a 2-run victory over the Hubli Tigers.
In the first innings The Mysuru Warriors lost openers Nihal Ullal (2) and Nitin Bhille (0) in a hurry after which came the captain being dragged out by a first-ball duck Karun Nair.The initial collapse put the team back in the powerplay, as Pavan Deshpande as well as Shubhang Hegde were faced with the daunting work of rebuilding.

 Maharaja Trophy: Mysuru Warriors Win A Thriller Against Hubli

Both players had to be aware in case a pair of quick wickets could spell ruin for the Warriors.Deshpande and Hegde were solid in their approach in putting together a 54-run stand that slowed the ship, before the latter was dismissed shortly after the midway point.

The Warriors were hoping to continue their progress however Shreyas Gopal was able to score an early duck too.But, Rohan Naveen was not able to complete the hat-trick.

Shivraj S.He chipped in with a Nifty 26 from 19 balls while Deshpande progressed towards the half-century mark.Dhuri added a quick 18 while Deshpande eventually scored 57 in the midst of a tense situation where the Warriors were confined to 145/8 in 20 overs.

The flash of wickets continued in the second period with the Hubli Tigers losing Mohammed Taha (5), Naveen MG (2) and Swapnil Yelave (0) early and in spite of Luvnith Sisodia fought to stop the bowlers in his end.

Sisodia and Srinivas Sharath dipped in and put together a 30 run stand before the first wicket was snuffed out in the ninth over, scoring 22 runs off 23 balls with the score at 51/4.

The Tigers were in the middle of trouble and would require special effort to come out of the situation.

Following the midway point the procession carried on with Tushar Singh (5) becoming Nihal Ullal’s fifth catch of the day and the Tigers continued to slide.

Rohan Naveen was killed by Shreyas Gopal in the 12th over following that Srinivas Sharath was also taken off for 21 by Shreyas and left the Warriors with only the last rituals to complete.

Abhimanyu Mithun and Sharan Gowda were able to get some practicing batting through a 38-run stand.Vidyadhar Patil took care of the former for 27 runs off 20 balls.

Sharan Gowda (31) tried to end the match in spectacular fashion in the last over with a couple of lusty strikes but it was too long for him, and also the Tigers.

Brief scores:

Mysuru Warriors 145/8 in 20 overs (Pavan Deshpande 57, Shivraj S.26, Shubhang Hegde 22; V.Koushik 3/19, Rohan Naveen 2/337) defeated Hubli Tigers 143/9 in 20 overs (Sharan Gowda 31, Abhimanyu Mithun 27; Vidyadhar patil 4/24, Shreyas Gopal 227) by two runs.